Prof. Dr. Hansjörg Eibl †

Hansjörg Eibl is a biochemist having received his training at the University of Freiburg, Germany. He has dedicated his whole academic career to the invention and synthesis of novel phospholipids. Initially heading the research group phospholipids at the Max Planck Institute of Immunobiology and Epigenetics in Freiburg, Germany, he was a Professor of Chemistry at the Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry in Göttingen, Germany, heading the department of phospholipids for several decades before retiring. Throughout his career, he was a visiting researcher at the State University Utrecht, Utrecht, the Netherlands, and the University of Michigan, Ann Harbor, Michigan, USA, as well a visiting professor at the Vanderbilt University, Nashville, Tennessee, USA, the Cornell University Medical Center, New York, USA, the University of Arizona, Tucson, Arizona, USA, and the University of California, San Francisco, California, USA.

He is the inventor of 50 patents and author/co-author of more than 300 scientific publications, primarily in the area of novel phospholipids and their synthesis and incorporation into membranes. For his outstanding academic research, he received the Heinrich Wieland Prize of the Boehringer Ingelheim Foundation (1982), the Farmitalia-Carlo-Erba Prize (1986), the German Cancer Prize (1990) and well as the Galenus von Pergamon Prize (1995). His basic research led to several approved drugs, such as Miltex®, Impavido® and Milteforan®. Hansjörg EIbl is the inventor of the novel phospholipid class 1,2-dipalmitoyl-sn-glycero-3-phospho-oligo-glycerol (DPPGn), the core of Thermosome’s TSL technology, as well as accompanying areas.